Skip to main content

#SubEnergy Advances FIVE Bills to the Full Committee for Consideration


WASHINGTON, DC – The Subcommittee on Energy, chaired by Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI), today advanced five bills to the full committee that ensure the Department of Energy has the tools it needs to execute its core energy security missions and to promote domestic energy infrastructure and capitalize on the nation’s energy abundance.

#SubEnergy advanced the following bills:

H.R. 5174, Energy Emergency Leadership Act, authored by committee members Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI) and #SubEnergy Ranking Member Bobby Rush (D-IL), would:

  • Update the Department of Energy Organization Act to include energy emergency and energy security functions which the secretary shall assign to an assistant secretary.
  • H.R. 5174 unanimously passed #SubEnergy by voice vote.

H.R. 5175, Pipeline and LNG Facility Cybersecurity Preparedness Act, authored by #SubEnergy Chairman Upton and committee member Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA), would:

  • Require the Secretary of Energy to carry out a program to coordinate federal agencies, states, and the energy sector to ensure the security, resiliency, and survivability of natural gas pipelines, hazardous liquid pipelines, and liquefied natural gas facilities.
  • An Amendment in the Nature of a Substitute was offered and accepted into the bill.
  • H.R. 5175 unanimously passed #SubEnergy by voice vote.

H.R. 5239, Cyber Sense Act, authored by #SubDCCP Chairman Bob Latta (R-OH) and committee member Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA), would:

  • Establish a voluntary DOE program that tests the cybersecurity of products and technologies intended for use in the bulk-power system, including products related to industrial control systems. H.R. 5239 would also authorize DOE to provide technical assistance to electric utilities, product manufacturers, and other electricity sector stakeholders to help mitigate identified cybersecurity vulnerabilities.
  • An Amendment in the Nature of a Substitute was offered and accepted into the bill.
  • H.R. 5239 unanimously passed #SubEnergy by voice vote.

H.R. 5240, Enhancing Grid Security through Public-Private Partnerships Act, also authored by Reps. McNerney and Latta, would:

  • Require DOE to establish a program to facilitate and encourage public-private partnerships to promote and advance the physical and cybersecurity of electric utilities that have fewer resources due to size or region. H.R. 5240 would also direct DOE to assess priorities, policies, procedures, and actions for enhancing the physical and cybersecurity of electric distribution systems.
  • H.R. 5240 unanimously passed #SubEnergy by voice vote.

For a more detailed description of H.R. 5174, H.R. 5175, H.R. 5239, and H.R. 5240, click HERE.

H.R. 4606, Ensuring Small Scale LNG Certainty and Access Act, authored by committee member Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH), would:

  • Provide that applications under the Natural Gas Act for the import or export of small volumes of natural gas shall be approved without modification or delay.
  • Open-up new markets for American exports in the Caribbean, Central America, and South America.
  • Preserve existing environmental laws to ensure that small scale export facilities receive the proper review.
  • H.R. 4606 passed #SubEnergy by a vote of 19-14.

“All five bills build upon the committee’s impressive record of oversight, hearings, and previously enacted bills aimed at protecting and strengthening out nation’s energy infrastructure,” said #SubEnergy Chairman Upton.

“Taken together, these bills represent important energy security and energy infrastructure reforms that will better position DOE to serve the nation’s interests going forward. I commend our members for working on this legislation,” concluded #FullCmte Chairman Greg Walden (R-OR).

The Majority Memorandum, legislative text, vote sheets, and an archived webcast can be found online HERE.


Press Release