Skip to main content

E&C Republican Leaders Support 5G Deployment


Washington, DC –Energy and Commerce Committee Republican Leaders continue to promote policies that spur innovation, reduce burdensome regulations, and help America lead in technologies that will define our nation’s future.

Energy and Commerce Committee Republican Leader Greg Walden (R-OR), Communications and Technology Subcommittee Republican Leader Bob Latta (R-OH), Energy Subcommittee Republican Leader Fred Upton (R-MI), Environment and Climate Change Subcommittee Republican Leader John Shimkus (R-IL), Health Subcommittee Republican Leader Michael Burgess, M.D. (R-TX), Consumer Protection and Commerce Subcommittee Republican Leader Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA), and Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee Republican Leader Brett Guthrie (R-KY) led a letter with 16 Energy and Commerce Republican members to Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman Ajit Pai in support of their “5G Upgrade Order” which will be considered during the FCC’s open meeting on June 9, 2020.

This Order will help provide clarity to American wireless providers so they can more quickly deploy 5G infrastructure across local communities.

“During these unprecedented times, connectivity has remained a key component to supporting the economy, providing access to telehealth services, and facilitating distance learning. As the wireless industry continues to make upgrades to its networks, promote competition, and roll out new 5G services, this Order marks the next major step that the Commission can take to promote broadband buildout across our great country.  Reducing unnecessary regulatory burdens to promote broadband deployment is a top priority for Congress, and we urge the Commission to approve this Order at your June Open Meeting,” the Committee leaders wrote.

The Committee Republican leaders were joined in penning the letter by Reps. Steve Scalise (R-LA), Pete Olson (R-TX), David McKinley (R-WV), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Morgan Griffith (R-VA), Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Billy Long (R-MO), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Bill Flores (R-TX), Susan Brooks (R-IN), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Richard Hudson (R-NC), Tim Walberg (R-MI), Buddy Carter (R-GA), and Jeff Duncan (R-SC).

Click HERE to read the full letter.

Press Release